2013 Conference Abstracts and Papers

If you would like to see the full paper, please contact the author at the e-mail address listed with the title.

Name Email Title
Jay Atkinson jayatk40@gmail.com Conversation as Epistemic Practice in Congregational Life
George Kimmich Beach gkbeach@aol.com On Reading Mark With Two Eyes
Richard F. Boeke r.boeke@virgin.net THE TEMPLE ABOVE THE CLOUDS. [paper]
Colin Bossen cbossen@gmail.com Recovering Abby Price
John A Buehrens jbuehrens@comcast.net Discipleship and Amnesia
Dana Capasso dana.capasso@yale.edu “The Life of The Reverend Mila Frances Tupper Maynard”
Al Carlson and Helen Popenoe carlson2@erols.com The Greater Washington Association: Achieving Interdependence Among Unitarian Universalist Congregations.
Barbara Coeyman revbarbarac@comcast.net 19th-Century Women in Liberal Ministry: Symbols of Progress, or Marks of Institutional Conflict?”
Patrice K. Curtis and Jennifer Whitten pkwcurtis@gmail.com, jwhitten@ses.sksm.edu Promise of Beyond: Utopian Influence in our Movement Today
Gail Forsyth-Vail and Pat Kahn gforsythvail@uua.org Our Seventh Source: UU History in Faith Development for All Ages
Gordon Gibson gjgibson@juno.com Heroes without Halos
Greater Washington Religious Educators Cluster (GWAREC) bettyjomiddleton@aol.com Teaching All Ages About Our History
Lavona Grow & Hal Fuller lavonagrow@mac.com UUs for Social Justice in the Capital Region: Thirteen Years of Collaboration
Avery (Pete) Guest averyguest@gmail.com  Hosea Ballou’s Other Family
Philip F. Gura gura@email.unc.edu  From Edwards to Emerson, Revisited
Philip F. Gura gura@email.unc.edu Self and Society in Antebellum Religion and Literature
Mark Harris minister@fpwatertown.org John Brown, The Secret Six, and the Role of Violence in Social Change.”
RICHARD A. KELLAWAY ishmaelnb@gmail.com WILLIAM JAMES POTTER IN CIVIL WAR WASHINGTON [paper]
Emily Mace emilyrmace@gmail.com  Digital Resources for Unitarian Universalist Scholars and Congregations
Bruce Marshall bmarshall@roadmuseum.org  Unitarians and Universalists of Washington, DC: A Photo History
Doug McCusker dmccusker@meadville.edu The Better Way of Peace – The Peace Activism of Jenkin Lloyd Jones
Daniel McKanan dmckanan@hds.harvard.edu Universalism for the Damned: Introducing the Theology of George Lippard [paper]
Mark Morrison-Reed markmr@hotmail.com Race: The Circumstantial Influence of UUism on U.S. Policy
Lee Paczulla l.a.paczulla@gmail.com The Ministry of David Eaton: Lessons for a Multicultural Age
Frank Potter potpren@mchsi.com The Radical Adams Couple of the West (Dubuque) and their Transcendental and Suffragist Friends.
Robert Reutenauer bobreut@gmail.com “The most active spirit in the dissenting group”: Universalism, Democracy, and Anti-slavery in the Hartford of John Milton Niles, 1816-1856.
Michael S. Riggs msrq39@gmail.com Revisiting Edward Everett’s Antebellum Tightrope Act: Loyal Northern Unionist with Reluctant Southern Sympathies
Madeleine Robins mrobins@meadville.edu A. Powell Davies in the Nation’s Capital: Bringing the Past to the Present
Rosemarie Smurzynski email.smurzynski@verizon.net Navigating Archival Treasures at Mount Auburn Cemetery
Mimi Stevens mimi.stevens@verizon.net Is This the UU “Good Book”?
Allison Stokes allisonstokes@earthlink.net A Story of Interracial Friendship and Social Activism: Unitarian Reformers Celia Parker Woolley (1848-1918) and Fannie Barrier Williams (1855-1944)
Susan Elisabeth Subak susansubak@msn.com VE Day and We’re Still Here! The Success of the Unitarian Service Committee during World War II
David Tarbell dwtarbell@optonline.net Life Mind and Spirit [paper]
Arliss Ungar arliss@ungar.us Charles Albert Murdock (1841-1928) Unitarian, Civic Leader and the Earliest Printer of Taste in the Far West [[paper]

If you would like to see the full paper, please contact the author at the e-mail address listed with the title.